explain rigid foam on the board

Started by gandy dancer#1, January 20, 2012, 03:27:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gandy dancer#1

HI: I have seen pics of set ups with rigid foam on top of the plywood, explain please why, and advantage, and is the foam paintable istead of having to use say indoor outdoor carpet for grass??  a curious mind wants to know ;D
M.R.BURNS

darthraven

I am pretty new at this myself, but one thing that comes to mind is being able to make lakes, rivers, valleys without having to cut your bench work.

Doneldon

gd#1-

Yes, the foam is paintable (latex only) and very easy to carve below railhead features like waterways. It's fairly rigid and just right if you frame it and/or put some plywood under it. It's also easy to attach track and scenery to the foam. Just use any foam-safe inexpensive construction adhesive. Many folks use clear caulk; I like Liquid Nails for projects.
                                                    -- D

rogertra

Quote from: darthraven on January 20, 2012, 04:53:10 PM
I am pretty new at this myself, but one thing that comes to mind is being able to make lakes, rivers, valleys without having to cut your bench work.

Then don't use solid benchwork!

Use open frame benchwork and only put subroadbed where the tracks go.  Elevate ALL your subroadbed on risers so that your scenery can easily be built above and below track level.  Having a large, solid areas under the tracks in only good in yards, where you have multiple yard trackage.

For everywhere else, even at small "stations" and passing track or where spurs leave the main track or sidings,  use open frame benchwork.

Desertdweller

With all respects to Roger, I don't think this is a "one size fits all" solution.  Solid plywood benchwork has its uses, especially if you want to be able to change track configurations.