Help!! Dual mode newby fears he fried his new 2-6-0's decoder in DC ...

Started by frn1963, January 12, 2012, 10:33:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

frn1963

I'm new to owning locos with dual-mode decoders and today I rushed home from the hobby store and put my beautiful new 2-6-0 on my partially-built layout, fired up the cheapi train power 1300 power pack.  Mystified by the flashing lights and jerky operation, and assuming that, as with old fashioned DC locos it just needed more juice, I floored it. All it did then was flash its lights and make pathetic snapping sounds
THEN I consulted the little guide that came with it and realized I probably fried the decoder.
1.  Did I?
2.  If so, how do I get a new decoder and replace it?  Is it easy?

Yes I know I should have read the guide first - won't make THAT mistake again!

Jerrys HO

Assuming you are talking about the MRC railpower 1300 power pack, that should not have caused the decoder to burn up,as Bachmanns dual decoders are set up to be used on both DC and DCC. Give Bachmann's service dept. a call as this may be a defective decoder. I purchased one of the gp 50's that stated DCC onboard and when I set it on my track it did the same thing. Bachmann to care of it immediately. Around this time of year please be patient as there work load does increase after x-mas.

Jerry

Be sure to enclose your warranty card and receipt when you send it back

CNE Runner

I have to agree with Jerry as I have been running my Bachmann Spectrum GE 45-Ton locomotive (dual mode equipped) on DC for almost 2 years now without a hitch. I'm sure Bachmann will make your Mogul well again.

Regards,
Ray
"Keeping my hand on the throttle...and my eyes on the rail"

Johnson Bar Jeff

Quote from: frn1963 on January 12, 2012, 10:33:56 PM