screws/pins for wheels/trucks

Started by jerso06, March 29, 2012, 08:32:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jerso06

I have an older ( 10-15 yr old ) Bachmann tanker car.  One set of wheels/truck broke off.  The screw or pin or whatever holds the truck to the body is gone. The wheels/truck is still intact.  Where do I find a replacement so I can put the truck/wheels back onto the car? And, what is the proper name of what I'm looking for.  (can ya tell I'm new to all this?)  Thank you in advance.

az2rail

What scale are you in?
Have you tried looking in the prduct locator?
If your parents never had children, chances are you won't either.

Doneldon

j06-

It may not be worth doing this repair but let's go through it anyway.

First, strongly consider replacing the wheelsets (wheelset = two wheels and their axle) with wheelsets with metal wheels if your current wheels are plastic. Use your NMRA clearance gauge to make sure the wheels are the proper distance apart. This will improve your operation. Second, cut the Talgo arms off of your trucks if they have them, and mount your couplers (use knuckle couplers - Kadees are best) to the car body at the height specified by your NMRA gauge. This will also improve operation. Third, fill the existing mounting holes with styrene, and then drill and tap them for a 2-56 screw. Tighten one truck so it will swivel freely but not wobble. Loosen the other truck about 1/4 to 1/2 turn from this tightness so that truck can rock a little. (More operational improvement) Last, as long as your car is on the RIP track, make sure it has the correct weight. For HO this means one ounce plus one-half ounce for every inch of a car's length. This works out to roughly 3.5 - 4.0 ounces for a 40-foot boxcar. And this will lead to -- I know you know -- even more improvement in operation.