caboose restoriation question

Started by jettrainfan, June 04, 2012, 10:29:02 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jettrainfan

Was talking with a couple of friends from the local model railroad club (CV&WS in Olmsted Falls, Ohio)on Sunday and the subject was restoring stuff. I said i personally would like to restore C&O 2707, a 2-8-4 that used to be in Cleveland ohio... but that's probably a dream that will doubtfully come true (never said i gave up hope  ;) ), but anyway, the chat reminded me of these 3 IC cabooses I've filmed last year.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iF_0J-okUoE&feature=plcp

I was wondering, how much would it probably cost to restore them (interior and outside) to running condition. I have some experience with grinding and know its not something that happens over night. i forgot if they were rolling or friction bearing trucks, but just for the sake of the subject, lets say they're friction bearing. Would try to make some money by renting them to scenic railroads and what not.

Any ideas would be great!
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9ZL7jR1cRb4             

This is how i got my name and i hope that you guys like it.

http://www.youtube.com/user/jettrainfan?feature=mhw4
youtube account

Desertdweller

In order to be handled in interchange (between railroads) the FRA would require them to have steel underframes, be less than 50 years old, have roller bearing trucks, and brake gear that would meet current requirements.

They would also have to be current in their inspections and air tests, and not have excess brake piston travel.

Also, they would need a retention tank for their toilet and sink, and meet current safety specs.

Not a cheap project.

Les

Desertdweller

You would also need FRA type 223 glass in the windows, and maybe even seat belts!