News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Bachmann Consoldation Problem

Started by Sawmill Guy, September 16, 2012, 07:30:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sawmill Guy

Hello Folks,

This is my very first time on a message board.  I'm retired and have had a layout for twelve years.  I model a freelance HO layout named Sierra Pacific.

I have eight Bachmann Consolidations and am starting to service them.  I took the under frame with the driver contacts off the bottom of one of them to lube the gear on the driver.   I can't get it back on with out bending the electrical contacts.  Is there a trick to doing this?

I enjoy reading the message board.

Regards,
Dave

GN.2-6-8-0

Yeah those fine bronze contact are a real pain in the butt just hate'm . you don't say your age but for me a set of opti visor magnifiers helps.......that with a lot of patience...
Rocky Lives

jonathan

Ah yes, the love-hate relationship with bronze pick up brushes.  They are delicate, but work so well.

I attack the problem a little differently.  I take off the shell, then remove the motor assembly and clean/lube the parts, keeping the lower wheel assembly together.  This allows you access to the main gear, and delicate parts, without having to take off the wheel cover plate.  More screws to deal with, but less chance of doing damage to those brushes.

However, I have taken off the plate in the past.  I find a straight pin is a good tool for guiding the brushes back into position while lowering the plate back into position.  As GN 2-6-8-0 mentioned, I do all this under a magnifying glass.  My eyes aren't what they use to be.

Regards,

Jonathan

Sawmill Guy