Main Menu

decals?

Started by union pacific 844, September 25, 2012, 12:49:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

union pacific 844

hi how do i use decals? this is my first time using decals   

sd24b

Quote from: union pacific 844 on September 25, 2012, 12:49:44 AM
hi how do i use decals? this is my first time using decals      I like to use clean warm water in a shallow bowl.  Some suggest distilled water.  then follow the instructions.  Your surface should be clean.  Decals adhere to a gloss or semi-gloss finish.  I would also suggest you use MicroSol and Microset to assist the decals to settle down and adhere to your model. 

jonathan

Decals usually come with instructions, as stated.

For tools, I like to use a cross-hatch tweezers, a toothpick and straight pin.

Once the decals are applied, let them dry.  Then use the straight pin to poke holes in any bubbles you find.  A magnifying glass will help.  Then apply a coat of Microsol to the decals.  They may wrinkle a bit while the decals set.  Don't touch 'em!  They will dry flat.

I repeat the pin prick and Microsol process one more time.  Once dried, add a shot of dullcote.

Regards,

Jonathan

CNE Runner

Adding to Jonathan's post:

I like to begin the process by spraying some Krylon Clear onto the car sides. This allows the decal to slide easier without damage as well as 'snugging' into any nooks and crannies. [Can you tell we had English muffins this morning?] I allow the Clear coat to dry overnight...although this is probably overkill. I apply the decal as per Jonathan's post, and allow an overnight drying period - after the second application of Microsol. Following the aforementioned drying period, the car side is lightly sprayed with Dullcote (which serves to seal and protect the decal). After another overnight drying period, the car can be weathered in the usual manner if desired.

Ray
"Keeping my hand on the throttle...and my eyes on the rail"

union pacific 844

ok is it  the some on a steam engine?