News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Bachmann track

Started by FMac, January 31, 2013, 12:36:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FMac

I'm a new train modeler and I was hoping to get some advice as to the best way to connect multiple track switches. Is there a power block that works well orr any other device. Open for suggestions
thanks,
FMac

Doneldon

FMac-

If you are using slow-motion switch motors like Tortoise motors, you can use simple toggles. However, if you are using electromagnetic switch machines, like Bachmann and all other ready-to-use remote control turnouts, you MUST use switches with a center-off or momentary-contact architecture.

Slow-motion machines actually continue to push the rails in the direction of the throw (one of the reasons many modelers like them so much -- they give a very positive throw) so it is okay, even necessary, that the switch machine remain energized: that's how they stay firmly in position. However, the electromechanical, instant-throw, machines use an electromagnet to throw the rails this way or that. They act immediately and do not need their power to continue. Indeed, continuing the power after the turnout has moved will destroy the switch motor by burning it out. This won't take long, i.e., within a few seconds of the very first time you throw the control.

The switches which come with ready-made remote control turnouts (buy the ones labeled with numbers, not the ones called snap-switch) are just fine. But if you use more than one brand and want your switches to look the same, you must either buy more electrical switches of the type you want to use so they all match, or buy all new ones. Be sure that you get the right type if you buy all new ones, like from Radio Shack or something. And, of course, the same advice applies if having toggle or paddle switches appeal to you.

Good luck with your modeling and welcome to model railroading.

-- D

Flyfisher2