News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

ho scale

Started by no1jrtech, March 17, 2013, 12:54:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

no1jrtech

I'm new at this train building so my question is can the ho scale Chattanooga train climb hills?

Doneldon

#1-

Welcome to model railroading and this board. I'm sure you'll find many aspects of model railroading which interest you; it's worked for me for nearly 60 years. There is a learning curve, as with any activity, but be patient with yourself and you'll soon find you have hidden talents which you can expand with your trains.

The Chattanooga is an inexpensive, train set locomotive. As such, it isn't very powerful. However, it can pull a few cars up a reasonable grade. As you may know, grades present significant challenges to railroads. Real trains are very heavy -- even a 10,000 ton (20,000,000 pounds) train isn't considered to be particularly large -- so grades are minimized as much as possible. This means finding a route which permits a train to climb as little as possible over the longest possible distance. By today's standards, a two-percent grade would be considered very steep on a real railroad. To avoid even this comparatively mild slope (track rising two feet in every 100 feet of travel) railroads will build bridges, embankments and  tunnels, and blow whole hillsides and cliffs out of the way.