Figure Eights on Different Curve Radii

Started by keesu, May 07, 2013, 12:25:25 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

keesu

Hey, All

I'm new to this hobby and have a question about figuring out how to make basic layouts. Circles are a cinch, as are ovals, but figure eights never cease to confuse me.  I'd appreciate it if one of you could explain which track parts I need to make a figure eight using 26" curve track.  I've tried to do it on AnyRail but to no avail.  I had no trouble at all with figure eights using 18" and 22", but 26" has me stumped. 

Sorry for the rookie question, but we all have to start somewhere.  Maybe I need to take a geometry course!

Keith

Doneldon

Keith-

It's not quite as easy as just specifying a curve radius. You also need to decide how long and wide you want your figure eight to be.

You can add straight track sections in the middles of the end curves to make the arrangement wider or leave them out and have an overall width of about 54-55 inches, plus a couple of inches for a safety allowance at the edges. Adding the straights on the ends will change the geometry of the straights you'll need to get to the middle of your layout and the angle of the crossing.

You can also end your curves just barely beyond the point of 180o curvature and then run straight tracks until you get to the place where you'll need a crossing. This will give you a layout of maximum length. (Well, not exactly - you can also add straights right at the 180o points which will lengthen your layout to whatever total length you want.) If you run the curves farther around you'll use fewer straights between the ends of the curves and the crossing, and the crossing angle will shift in proportion to how far you run those curves.