Is It OK To Secure a Bachmann Decoder With Electrical Tape?

Started by d_hitt, June 16, 2013, 04:59:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

d_hitt

I'm new to DCC.  I finally figured out with the help of this forum where you actually plug in the decoders on my Bachmann 4-8-2 Light Mountain and K4 Pacific.  I have Bachmann's DCC system and tried to get some trains running.  Neither of my Bachmann locos will run. ???   I put some of my old analog locos on and got them to run by turning on #10 for the analog locos on my dcc controller.  I opened up the tender on the Mountain and the decoder had come loose.  Is it okay to secure that with electrical tape?  I'm not sure what's going on with the K-4 yet but I'll try to get the Mountain going first.  BTW, I'm using the basic Bachmann 8 pin decoders.  Thanks in advance!

Doneldon

d h-

No. Electrical tape doesn't hold up well over time, especially when it's exposed to heat like you'll have on your motor top. A
better material is double-sided foam tape. Silicone caulk will also work. Each of those will both electrically and thermally
insulate the decoder a little.
                                              -- D

d_hitt

Thanks!  I'll try the phone tape as it sounds like caulk would be a hassle when it came to future repairs / changes.

richg

Normally the decoder does not need to be held in place. Sounds like the tender had some rough handling or the eight pin plug was not securely inserted into the socket.
Many do use anything to secure the decoder in the tender. Mine do not need any tape.

Rich

jbrock27