News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

HO EM-1

Started by cruiser7629, September 16, 2013, 04:34:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cruiser7629

I just got an HO EM-1 and the sound module for it. When I tried to run it on our club layout, the DC worked, but it would not run on DCC and the sound did not work. The quick start instructions say to refer to the DCC users guide. (I am fairly new to DCC.) I did not get the users guide with my locomotive. Where can I access the Users Guide? I could not find it on the Bachmann website. If it is on the website, how, specifically, do I access it? I am trying to figure out if we did something wrong or the locomotive is defective.

richg

You did not look very hard. It is in the Parts and Service page. I just looked Take your time. Many times the DCC document is not specific to a loco.
A loco diagram is usually in the box if new from a distribution center/online train shop.
The loco diagrams are on the Bachmann site if you did not get one and you can download it to your PC. The beauty of the PDF document is you can enlarge it to view details.
I would suggest you take your time looking though the Bachmann site. Many never take time to look though and have to be led by the hand.
Bachmann does not include DCC instructions with the loco but expects users to simply download the document.

Rich

RAM

Did they try to program it?

jonathan

Cruiser,

Installing the sound module can be tricky, if this is your first time.  It is entirely possible to install the sound module upside down, although it should have seemed a bit awkward.  Thus, you get a loco running on DC, but no sound or movement in DCC.

The sound module comes with a very small diagram showing how to plug it in.

When the module is plugged in correctly, the sound and dual mode decoder should work immediately on address 3.