N Scale Lighted Passenger Car wheels or truck assemblies.

Started by rhino1000, February 16, 2014, 07:44:09 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

rhino1000

Hi all!
(I've done a bit of a search on the forums and couldn't see any topics relating to this issue, but if it's already on here my apologies!)

So firstly I'm a noob to the forums here and to the world of model railroading, so I apologize if any of my terminology is wrong and secondly....HELP!

I am running an N-Scale EZ track set-up (which started off as an Empire Builder set) which was all cool until I caught the bug and decided to get more track and get more adventurous. After purchasing more track and then a second hand Bachmann Great Northern passenger set (from about 1997 I believe); I decided to add some turn-outs........and this is where the nightmare begins.

After buying a left and right turnout switch to mix things up a bit, the Great Northern passenger cars derail every time they pass through the turnout. After hours and hours of modification to the switches (which BTW Bachmann; needed the rails filed and the frog modified a LOT) I've finally come to the conclusion that the issue is the passenger car wheels being the wrong gauge - some of them are fine and will pass through the turns fine but a few of them are too narrow and catch on the turning track when the switch is set to go straight ahead and I end up with the back or front end of passenger cars veering off onto the other track >:(

SO, the question is - can I buy replacement, correct gauge wheels that are suitable for a lit passenger car?
I've found these Graham Farish ones on ebay:  http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/331093187890?ssPageName=STRK:MEWAX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1423.l2649

will they work/fit? They need to be the right gauge to fit snugly in the current N Scale EZ Track and they need to be suitable to correctly light the interior of the passenger cars.