News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Relatively new - with questions

Started by Scott_ATL, September 17, 2014, 07:24:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scott_ATL

I'm relatively new to model trains, having dabbled in it as a teenager 30 years ago. I'm wanting to "disconnect" from modern technology overload (where everything is computer/digital oriented), so I recently purchased a Bachmann ready-to-run set from eBay. It was advertised as HO scale, new & unused. It ended up being N scale, and heavily used (run hard and put away wet). Fortunately, I paid relatively little for it, and N scale is actually a better fit for my available space. The set is the Bachmann White Christmas Express, containing a standard EZ track oval, with base power pack, three cars and an 0-6-0 Steamer. After opening up the box, and setting things up per the instructions...nothing happened. Two hours later of heavy track cleaning (denatured alcohol & lint-free rags) and cleaning the wheels on the steamer (and oiling axles & gears w/ plastic safe oil)...the train runs well. It could run better at slower speeds, but at 50, it runs smooth pulling the three including cars and I am pleased. The 34" x 24" standard oval layout is really small, and I have room for expansion - up to 36" wide x 60"long. I have downloaded AnyRail and I am playing with multiple layouts, designs, etc. (Ok, not so computer disconnected as I had hoped.) I've also been reading these forums, and absorbing as much information as I can, and have come up with a few items that need clarification.