News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Power to a long track?

Started by Nappen, November 22, 2014, 01:44:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nappen

Hi all,

First, I am a complete novice with trains, but my daughter has the Bachmann Alaska Rail set, a bunch of other track and cars, and a second set (rail chief that was 20 bucks because the locomotive was missing but all else was there).

When she sets up a large tracks, it seems that the power lessens far away from the power source. Is there a way to boost the power from the standard power supplies that come with the sets? I figure hooking two up would not be wise.

Saved1

Quote from: Nappen on November 22, 2014, 01:44:32 PM
Hi all,

First, I am a complete novice with trains, but my daughter has the Bachmann Alaska Rail set, a bunch of other track and cars, and a second set (rail chief that was 20 bucks because the locomotive was missing but all else was there).

When she sets up a large tracks, it seems that the power lessens far away from the power source. Is there a way to boost the power from the standard power supplies that come with the sets? I figure hooking two up would not be wise.

I think those track sets are DC power and if they are there are a lot of variables to deal with when it comes to losing power to the rails the longer it gets. You will need to make sure that the rails are connecting well to each other and In my opinion running track leads also should be done.

I'm not sure if there are power boasters for DC power (i use DCC) but you can try to do a search for that on here and also do a search for track leads to better help you understand what you may need to do to get the proper power to each track rail or hopefully someone else here that uses DC power source can better help you  :)

Desertdweller