News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

4-8-4 Northern Locomotive

Started by Ntrain, March 26, 2009, 03:06:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ntrain

I am having a terrible time getting this engine to pass through switches.  I tried to lower the rear 4 by spacers.  Also tried to do the same with the front 4.  I got to the point that the main drivers weren't making contact.  I have adjusted back to get the drivers in contact, and it still can't handle the Bachman EZ switches.  Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Franz T

The first think I do when I get a new loco is get out the trusty old NMRA gauge and check my wheel spacing. (I found Bachmann is notorious for having out of gauge wheels - an easy fix and otherwise their locos are great, at least the Spectrum line.)  So check if all your wheels are in correct gauge. I have no experience with EZ Track switches, but I have found the the regular EZ Track is a little under gauge...I would recommend using Peco or Micro Engineering track. If you prefer sectional, Atlas isn't bad and if you want track with roadbed, I would go with Kato....

James in FL

Very interesting reply.

You made me go check mine.

I'm not seeing it.
Considering the tolerance of most massed produced punch pressed parts, would be generally +/- .005.
Take into consideration what your NMRA gauge actually measures.

+/- .005 is nothing.
Considering the tolerance would naturally spread (open) proportional to die use (number of parts produced).
Add to this the number of miss-feeds in the production run.
Miss-feeds damage the die's cutting edge furthering opening the tolerance.
The process for finishing die punched parts is mainly "tumbling". This process removes burrs and can further open dimensions by removing base material. The longer in the "tumbler" the more material removed.
All of this said assuming an "operator" has strict conformance to requirements.
Basically in it's in the operators' discretion.