News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

used cars jump track

Started by GRASHLEY, February 03, 2015, 03:18:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

GRASHLEY

I am relatively new to N scale. I have purchased several cars, both new and used.  Some are Rapido, others are knuckle couplers of various brands.  Some are great runners.  Others, not so much.  I have replaced some trucks and couplers with MTL, which sometimes works.  I have added weight up to NMRA recommendations, which sometimes works. 

Any suggestions?????

I also have a couple new cars which like to "lose" their wheels (one set, out of warrenty).  Is the only fix to replace the trucks???

I have some cars that roll smoothly, but have excessive drag.  What do you suggest?

Thank you in advance.  The folks on this site are truly experts and very helpful.

Gordon

RGW

It is possible the some wheel set are out of gauge. old atlas metal wheels can be slide back and forth on the Axle if the are out it will cause binding. some times mixing different brands of trucks and axles does not work well ether.

I have hold the car upside down and  try spinning the wheels,if they do not spin for a few seconds I remove the wheel and check for problems , maybe crud on the inside truck where the axle point goes.

MT trucks normally  roll very well,so maybe different brand of wheels in the MT truck or the axle is popped out on one side

gatrhumpy

You need to get an N scale gauge and check the distance between the flanges. It will also allow you to check your track.

skipgear

More info needed....

What type of cars? .... how long are they?
What radius track?
Do you have reverse curves?
Do some of the cars have body mount couplers?
Is there a certain place they derail or is it random?

MT trucks are a safe answer for replacement but you must make sure they are shimmed correctly and the coupler box does not interfere with anything on the bottom of the car. 
Tony Hines