News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Piggyback trains - can I mix roadnames?

Started by austrian, May 10, 2015, 01:39:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

electrical whiz kid

Thomas;
Not a  problem here.  I am no expert by any means; but if I could enlighten someone I will try.  Like I said; I don't know for certain, but it would seem plausible [that] TOFC cars from different roads might have gotten integrated.
Normally, a flat made specifically for TOFC usage, had guide/guard rails along the sides, and obviously mounting gear for the fifth wheel to rest upon.  I am sure there were other appliances incorporated; the best thing I can suggest, would be to go on line and maybe try to contact some of the info sources, like maybe the NHH&TS; a man named Rick Abramson might-no-probably be much more help than could I.
G'DAY, mate!
SGT C.

Len

The New Haven sure mixed them up. Here's a mixed bag of locos and TOFC cars:

Picture from jcatsby's collection.

Len
If at first you don't succeed, throw it in the spare parts box.

jbrock27

Quote from: electrical whiz kid on May 13, 2015, 01:53:28 PM
Thomas;

G'DAY, mate!
SGT C.

Guten tag SargeAustria not Australia.   I know, they both begin the same way... :D
Keep Calm and Carry On

Jerrys HO

Quote from: rogertra on May 13, 2015, 11:52:25 AM
I did answer the question, and my answer to the question "Is it OK to mix road names" was in effect "Yes".
So where did I go wrong?
I never posted the old red herring, "It's your railroad......" used to justify unprototypical model railroads but as it was posted, why can't I respond to it?  If people don't want responses, then don't post. 
Cheers.
Roger T.

Roger, yes you answered it in your very first reply (where you should have stopped) but when I replied my rule #1 you so politely added.....