News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Couplers/Uncouplers

Started by DTrain, November 28, 2007, 01:33:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DTrain

I am very new to this all and my end is beginning to spin with all of the minor differences.  What is the difference between a coupler and an uncoupler?  Are they just different ways of accomplishing the same thing?

SteamGene

The coupler is what holds two or more items of mobile train equipment together (car to car, car to locomotive/tender, locomotive to locomotive/tender.)  An uncoupler is a device to separate the couplers so the equipment may go apart.  My uncoupler is normally my right hand.  :D
Gene
Chief Brass Hat
Virginia Tidewater and Piedmont Railroad
"Only coal fired steam locomotives"

bevernie

Mine is the left (usually)
                                                                            THANX!!
                                                                              Ernie
www.3abn.com   www.amazingfacts.com    www.bibleinfo.com

ebtnut

I'll expand my treatise a bit from the other post.  Back in the Jurassic period, the Mantua loop-and-hook was the de facto standard.  It was a large horizotal loop of brass with a hinged hook hanging into it.  When you pushed the cars together, the loops would slide over each other until the hooks engage the loops.  It was a very positive coupling, so much so that you could pick your entire train up like a string of sausages!  Attached to the back of the hook was a brass rod that hung down towards the track.  To uncouple, you had piece of brass that snapped down between the rails.  It was curved so that it protruded just above the railhead height.  If you were good, you could back your train up so that the rods rode over the ramp and lifted the hooks enough that you could then separate the cars, i.e., uncouple.