News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

F7 Headlight not working DCC

Started by Mijaat, November 21, 2019, 11:19:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mijaat

Hello,
I'm very new to DCC. Just got my first decoder. (digitrax)
I've installed a digitrax chip into a Bachmann F7. When I did this the headlight stopped working. (it worked before on DC)
I'm not sure if I need to connect one of the 2 unused wires or what. I've pressed f0 several times leaving it for a few minutes on each setting, my other loco takes a couple of seconds before the light turns on.
I don't see any loose or disconnected wires.
I'd post a picture but I can't get a file small enough to load.

Thanks

bapguy

Was it a decoder with an 8 pin connector? Did you line up the pins correctly?  What decoder? Try the head light in both directions.     Joe

jonathan

Yep. The first decoder I installed... did it backwards. Loco would run but no headlight. Try flipping the decoder around.

Regards,

Jonathan

Mijaat

I flipped the decoder and it ran backwards.  It is an 8 pin and only has the forward headlight.

bapguy

The orange wire is pin 1. The socket should have a 1 or some kind of mark to indicate where pin 1 goes. If the head light comes on, but loco runs backwards, CV29 can correct this.
CV29 calculater:    http://www.dccguy.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/01/CV29.jpg

Joe

Mijaat

The headlight doesn't come on in either direction. And I have confirmed that the orange wire is in slot 1.

Flare

Is the headlight a bulb or LED?

If LED it's possible the new decoder put out too much voltage and fried it.

Try giving the socket's blue and white pins 1.5 volts from a battery with no decoder installed, and the positive side touching the blue wire.

bapguy