Bachmann ore cars hard at work.

Started by Terry Toenges, January 15, 2021, 11:24:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Terry Toenges

Since I had trouble with my On30 Porter, I had to find a different loco to pull my Bachmann On30 ore cars and their Santa load. I dug out my old Lifelike HO 0-4-0 Teakettle. This was the first steam loco I bought when I started playing with trains back around '97 or '98. I was going to do a layout named after my Grand kids and call it the Fort Michael and Shelby Canyon Railroad. That never came to pass because I had a 4 X 6 table and bigger and layouts were calling me. I did do some modifying on it back then. That was my very first loco project too. I cut the pilot off and put step boards on it. I put on a different stack. I filed down the coal load and wired in a rear light. I cut the doors out so it would be open. I put knuckle couplers on and added some decals. When I got it out recently to use with the ore cars, I wanted some figures so that big motor wouldn't be so visible. I got some Arttista "S" scale figures. The loco is somewhat oversized for HO and HO figures looked much too small. These S ones look pretty good. After all these years, the loco still runs great.
https://youtu.be/vvowQL-E-jM
Feel like a Mogul.

Terry Toenges

I was wrong on that first layout. It was a 4 x 8 table I built. I looked at a few pics I had of it.
Yesterday, I tried to duplicate it in Anyrail and I couldn't do it exactly.  I was only using black roadbed track when I first started out but I had to saw off a few pieces like one leg of the crossing and a couple of curved pieces. With Anyrail, I had to use some gray pieces since I couldn't saw them. It was kind of a folded dog bone.
I never finished it. I started a different one in the big house that was going to be the FM & SC. In the garage house, it was cold in the winter and hot in the summer because no furnace and no AC.

Feel like a Mogul.

jonathan