News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

capacitors in the Spectrum 4-6-0?

Started by NevinW, January 23, 2008, 09:30:51 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

johnnyutah

[I'm not an electronics person, but cutting a capacitor on a locomotive in the US or Canada does no harm.  Cut them all. ]

How about in Australia? will it be any different? I have very little knowledge on this topic, but I have several Bachmann locos all equiped with decoders (Bachmann). Do not understand when you all talk of an "over speed problem" or "silent" motor drive. I have noticed that my consolidation 2-8-0 does speed dramatically on a steep decent, logicaly this to me is an over speed problem, am I correct. Please people shed your wisdom to this novice!

NevinW

I snipped the capacitors and it made no difference that I could observe.  -  Nevin

Jim Banner

Quote from: TonyD on January 24, 2008, 05:49:33 PM
It seems every 2 or 3 months someone is inventing a better mousetrap. DCC has been around- +10 years? Still no common connectors, plugs, or any thing the modeler might have to tackle in routine use, nevermind customizing. I am sitting on the dcc fence, and will spend no more money on it until everyone get thier ducks in a row....

Tony, that parade of better mouse traps is called "Progress."  Without progress, we would still be paying $100+ for a simple speed/direction/headlight decoder and $1000+ for a simple command station.  As someone who has been involved with multiple locomotive control for 40 odd years, I love it that I can buy a full featured decoder for less than $20, install it in a locomotive that predates "DCC ready" by a decade, and have the whole thing working in less than an hour.