News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

lighting buildings and other ho products

Started by bill aston, April 23, 2008, 04:16:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bill aston

I am new to this hobby. I would like to know the easiest way to light building, signals , etc on an ho layout. Are there special products?

Jim Banner

One choice is to use Grain-Of_Wheat (GOW) bulbs from the hobby shop.  These are generally rated 12 to 16 volts and can be connected to the ac or auxiliary terminals on your power pack.  If you are using more than one or two lights, a separate power pack or a "wall wart" type power supply rated 12 volts, 1 amp (1000 milliamps) would be better.  The lamps work equally well off ac or dc.  An auxiliary power pack is a necessity if you are using DCC to run your trains as no DCC system that I am aware of has an auxiliary output for lighting and turnouts.

Another choice is to use Christmas tree lights, the kind that come 50 or 100 or even 200 to a string.  These use 2.5 volt bulbs so you need 5 bulbs in series (the electricity flows through one, then the next, and so on) for a 12 volt supply or 6 in series for 16 volts.  These are much cheaper than GOW bulbs.  The Christmas tree lights are usually too big for signals but work great in buildings.  I would not recommend running whole strings of Christmas lights on 120 volts because of the dangers of having 120 volts on any wiring running around under a model railroad.