News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Magnetic uncouplers

Started by robman, December 18, 2008, 01:39:32 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

robman

G'day everyone. Haven't been on for a while as I've been away working (I'm a tour driver/guide) so I can earn money so I can afford to play trains. Any way now I'm home for a while (three weeks holiday) I want to get on with something I've been thinking about for a while now and that is making my own under track electro-magnetic uncouplers. I want to make quite a few of these and as I enjoy making stuff I thought that I'd give it a go. Has anyone else had a crack at making these or does anyone know of a book or site I could go to get some info.
   When I figure out how to put photos on this site and I get my turntable finished I'll put it up for you all to see. Home made 18" with full indexing and automatic selected track stop.Anyway, thanks for any info in advance. Cheers, Rob the Kiwi.
Modeling over there over here

Joe Satnik

Dear Rob,

The ultimate uncoupler
Model Railroader, January 2000 page 109
Build a hidden electromagnetic uncoupler
( ELECTROMAGNETIC, KADEE, "MOORE, BILLY WAYNE",  SCRATCHBUILD, UNCOUPLER, CONSTRUCTION, N, MR )

Some model train clubs keep a library of old MR mags.  Our (statewide) public library (system) has them.

http://www.aglasshalffull.org/article-uncouplers.html

Or, google "electromagnetic uncouplers".

Hope this helps.

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik
If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

Woody Elmore

In the late 70es, a club I belonged to used electromagnets. They got steel plate, bolts and magnet wire and made their own - based on an article in Model Railroader. They worked fine if you remembered where they were!