News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

EZ-Mate couplers

Started by trainman717, January 12, 2009, 09:08:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

trainman717

I am new to the world of baachman, having grown up with Hornby back home.
I have just started to bulid a layout and have bought some loco's and rolling stock. My question is 1 will EZ-Mate couplers work with Hook & Horn and 2 if they do not can I upgrade all my Hook & Horn to EZ-Mate couplers?

Yampa Bob

Yes, you can upgrade to knuckle couplers. Most recommend using Kadee metal couplers for the upgrade.  If the horn-hook couplers are truck mounted, I usually take drastic measures by rebuilding the bolsters, body mounting the couplers and modifying or replacing the trucks/wheelsets. Here's my pictorial:

http://www.bachmanntrains.com/home-usa/board/index.php/topic,4917.0.html

My choice of coupler is Kadee #148 with companion draft boxes, but there are drop in replacements for the horn-hook.

Others will comment on less drastic, and perhaps cheaper methods to upgrade the couplers.
I know what I wrote, I don't need a quote
Rule Number One: It's Our Railroad.  Rule Number Two: Refer to Rule Number One.

BIG BEAR

Hey t-man,
    Most people have a certain consist order, some like it for looks other's think a certain or exact consist was always a standard by a railroad co. or
my train runs best in this order. You could easily get a way with changing as little as 1 front coupler and always keeping the older stuff together.

Enjoy,
           Barry
Barry,

...all the Live long day... If she'd let me.

trainman717

Quote from: Yampa Bob on January 12, 2009, 09:29:52 PM
Yes, you can upgrade to knuckle couplers. Most recommend using Kadee metal couplers for the upgrade.  If the horn-hook couplers are truck mounted, I usually take drastic measures by rebuilding the bolsters, body mounting the couplers and modifying or replacing the trucks/wheelsets. Here's my pictorial: