News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Modeling High School/Marching Band

Started by NewYorkCentralgirl, April 05, 2009, 05:38:20 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

NewYorkCentralgirl

My high school is a one hundred year old building just waiting to be modeled.  In my layout i am going to pretty much make a scale model of our main street area.  There is a double track mainline and at the back of the layout on a slight hill will be the high school.  I am building a scale model using everything i got, i have taken scale measurements and i am using google earth aswell to give me a top view perspective. I have never built a model from scratch before. Any tips?

Also in the back almost as a tribute i am putting my marching band out on the field.  I am a big of fan of my trumpet as trains so i want to combine them.  I have my drill charts from which i am accurately going to place the figures. I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with this kind of a set up.  Does anybody know of any companies that make the figures or should i hand paint them nd make little instruments. If it helps our band has around 120 people.

Thanks in advance,
      NYCgirl

Paul M.

Preiser sells well-detailed figures, and they may have band-players. OTOH, their figures are pretty expensive, so a 120-person band is out of the question for all but the nearly unlimited budget.

Do you have a picture of your high school? Modeling different buildings depends on what type of building you want.

-Paul
[
www.youtube.com/texaspacific

Paul M.

Also, if you're interested in something less than $3 per Preiser person, I'm ordering a large lot of figures from a Hong Kong-based wholesaler. Contact me off-board ( by email : texas-pacific@sbcglobal.net ) if you're interested.

-Paul
[
www.youtube.com/texaspacific

RAM

You said that you have taken measurements and plan to build a scale model.  That is nice, but you