News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Pulling apart your Loco's

Started by honibear61, April 07, 2009, 11:20:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

honibear61

How do you pull apart the loco's?
I don't want to break any thing, so how do you do it?
Want to install DCC.

Yampa Bob

It would help a lot if you would please advise us of the scale, manufacturer, type and part number of your locomotive.

Regards
I know what I wrote, I don't need a quote
Rule Number One: It's Our Railroad.  Rule Number Two: Refer to Rule Number One.

honibear61

It is a Bachmann EMD GP 40 Diesel HO scale.
Its ok I worked it out mysef!!!
Now I have another qustion, How do I install a 1 amp decoder into the diesel?
I know I know there is instructions however I am new to this hobby & I know there are written instructions with the decoder but which wire is motor terminal 1 & which is motor terminal 2? Is motor teminal 1 the black or red wire? Pics would be nice!!!
Help would be appreciated

Aussie model rail enthusist

Yampa Bob

I have to assume you are hard wiring a decoder since the loco is not DCC ready. There isn't much room so you may have to use a small decoder such as the Digitrax DZ123/DZ125, or one of the newer decoder boards now being offered.

Please refer to the exploded diagram that came with your locomotive. If the loco is wired according to standard color convention, (some are not) the red motor wire connects to the orange decoder wire, black motor wire to the gray decoder wire.  If the loco runs the wrong direction then reverse the wires or change the default forward direction with your DCC controller if you have one. If you are running DC power, then the loco direction should match the direction switch on the controller when the right rail is positive polarity.

For the pickups, normally red is to the right rail/drivers,(red decoder wire), black to the left rail/drivers.(black decoder wire).