News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Couplers

Started by Flyer, November 20, 2009, 12:10:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Flyer

As a beginner I need to know what type, style, etc. of couplers are preferred by most.  Magnetic or non-

magnetic?  I just want to begin with the most trouble free type.

ABC

Kadee Couplers, as far as I am concerned there are no other types (these are magnetic) (There is no such thing as E-z mate, Mc Henry, life-like, x2f, etc... they are not the least bit reliable)

jonathan

Wow.  I think ABC really likes kadee couplers.  While kadees are the standard for most modelers, let me say this....

I have naver had an EZMate Mark II give me any trouble.  Granted, the kadee #5 is in probably 80% of my equipment.  However, I will happily use the Mark II, if the application of a kadee requires that I will have to cut into my equipment, especially a locomotive.  In fact, my 44-ton does all the switching in my yard.  It still has the Mark IIs it came with, couples and uncouples repeatedly, and never complains.  My other Spectrum Locos still have their original Mark IIs and have yet to let go of a consist.

Another caveat.  I have only been at this for three years.  Perhaps a plastic coupler will wear out over time.  If they do, the kadees will have to go in, but not until then.

One more thought.  I have picked up a few pieces of Walthers Gold Line rolling stock recently.  They now come equipped with proto max metal couplers.  They seem like very, very close copies of the kadee, right down to the metal spring insert, and work well also.

Flyer, if you decide that kadees are the way to go, you'll have to add a couple of new words to your vocabulary:  brinelling and greas'em.  Read the instructions carefully.  Kadees are wonderful, if installed correctly.

There is one brand of coupler I wouldn't give to my worst enemy.  But we are polite here.

Regards,

Jonathan

Railnut87