Bachmann Message Board

Discussion Boards => General Discussion => Topic started by: 298jcp on February 15, 2010, 08:30:53 PM



Title: Converting a Bachmann Spectrum f40PH to DCC
Post by: 298jcp on February 15, 2010, 08:30:53 PM
I'm new to this so any help or advice would be appreciated. I was told this unit was DCC ready. I now know that statement can mean many things. I want to put a simple decoder such as Bachmann in the unit with the stobe lighting.


Title: Re: Converting a Bachmann Spectrum f40PH to DCC
Post by: ABC on February 15, 2010, 09:50:59 PM
Usually DCC-Ready with a Bachmann HO loco means it has an 8-pin socket, but this is an older loco and it may not be the case with this loco. First, take off the shell and see if it has an 8-pin socket. If it has an 8-pin socket, just buy any decoder with an 8-pin plug and hook it in, just make sure you do it the right way and not reversed (there usually is a number indicating which hole is which). If it does not have an 8-pin socket, you will have to hardwire the decoder and ensure the motor is isolated.


Title: Re: Converting a Bachmann Spectrum f40PH to DCC
Post by: 298jcp on February 16, 2010, 01:50:43 AM
Thanks ABC..Unfortunatly there's no 8 pin board. I assume a Bachmann Decoder will fit and I'll have to hard wire it. Is there a good installation instuction sheet or video available that you know of?