Bachmann Message Board

Discussion Boards => General Discussion => Topic started by: Buddh on September 18, 2013, 03:11:57 PM



Title: remote turnouts
Post by: Buddh on September 18, 2013, 03:11:57 PM
I am a new model rail way operator. How do create/setup a rail line with no power in a "remote' turnout. I have stet up three turnouts with the purpose of having a lay by for non operating engines. But a I cannot figure out how to kill the power to turn out "siding" until that engine is required for service. I thought I had the direction boxes properly hooked up.
I am looking forward to some advise.


Title: Re: remote turnouts
Post by: Desertdweller on September 18, 2013, 05:36:45 PM
Some turnouts are "power routing" and will pass power to the diverging track only when lined for it.

Otherwise, you can put an insulating gap or joiner in one rail of the siding, and control power to it with an electrical switch.

You probably should have the option of powering your siding so you can run a loco into it before turning it off.

Les