Bachmann Message Board

Discussion Boards => General Discussion => Topic started by: bozz on October 09, 2007, 06:06:22 PM



Title: Wiring Wye Switches
Post by: bozz on October 09, 2007, 06:06:22 PM
 I am working on my first train set.  I hope to have 6 wyes  in this layout. My control panel is going to be a slide out under the main table. The wire on the wye is too short  to go to the panel.   Is there a jumper I can get or do I need to butt splice them to put  the switchs on the panel?


Title: Re: Wiring Wye Switches
Post by: engineerkyle on October 09, 2007, 08:41:53 PM
6 wyes seems like a lot Bozz, do you mean 6 turnouts?

a wye switches the trains dirrection, like turning a car around when there is no room for a U turn. A turnout or switchtrack sends the train along a new route. The wires can be about as long as you need them to be...

Have you done ths yet? What kind of track are you using and is your system DCC?

EK


Title: Re: Wiring Wye Switches
Post by: rogertra on October 10, 2007, 01:51:56 AM
Go to your local model railroad shop and buy a book on how to wire your layout.

While you're there, also buy books on scenery, kitbashing buildings, track planning and any other "How To" books that you can find.

As a beginner, you'll find them all invaluable.


Title: Re: Wiring Wye Switches
Post by: murfling on November 10, 2007, 06:32:05 PM
If you are using EZ track, Bachmann sells extension wires with plugs on each end for them.
Jonathan