Bachmann Message Board

Discussion Boards => HO => Topic started by: jrd65 on March 03, 2015, 04:36:18 PM



Title: ds64 aUTOMATIC CHANGING DURING POWER UP
Post by: jrd65 on March 03, 2015, 04:36:18 PM
Has anyone using DS64's with Atlas Snap switches incurred automatic changing positions on the switch on power up of the platform?


Title: Re: ds64 aUTOMATIC CHANGING DURING POWER UP
Post by: WoundedBear on March 03, 2015, 04:54:40 PM
That's probably a question best answered by either Digitrax or Atlas. But I may be wrong ::)

Sid


Title: Re: ds64 aUTOMATIC CHANGING DURING POWER UP
Post by: Bucksco on March 03, 2015, 08:36:18 PM
I agree...


Title: Re: ds64 aUTOMATIC CHANGING DURING POWER UP
Post by: Jerrys HO on March 03, 2015, 09:05:09 PM
Nope but I have a Bachmann  DCC decoder equipped #6 crossover that does it. Don't know why? never asked as it only does it on powering up the system.


Title: Re: ds64 aUTOMATIC CHANGING DURING POWER UP
Post by: Len on March 03, 2015, 09:18:37 PM
If you have everything plugged into an outlet strip, and turn it on and off using the strips power switch, you can have wierd problems. When you turn the outlet strip on, there is often a voltage spike that can cause spurious signals from DCC control systems.

In fact, some systems instructions specifically say to power them off seperately and turn them on last, after everything else has been turned on, for that reason.

Len


Title: Re: ds64 aUTOMATIC CHANGING DURING POWER UP
Post by: Jerrys HO on March 03, 2015, 11:52:08 PM
If you have everything plugged into an outlet strip, and turn it on and off using the strips power switch, you can have wierd problems. When you turn the outlet strip on, there is often a voltage spike that can cause spurious signals from DCC control systems.

In fact, some systems instructions specifically say to power them off seperately and turn them on last, after everything else has been turned on, for that reason.

Len

I'll have to try that when I get my layout rewired Len, good tip if it works. I'll try to post my findings when I get back to building on the layout.