Bachmann Message Board

Discussion Boards => On30 => Topic started by: Shay33328 on September 01, 2008, 10:40:22 PM



Title: Gears on the Shay and Climax
Post by: Shay33328 on September 01, 2008, 10:40:22 PM
Hello everyone,
Has anyone had any issues with their gears on your Climax's or Shay's. I've had gears broken on each of them within two weeks. Both are new in the sense that they have been in the box since I bought them a year ago (lack of a layout) and now that I am building a layout and have a place to run they are striking out on me. I still have two more Shays that I can run but I am afraid that they will die on me any time soon. Any info will be appreciated it.  :-\

Nick

 


Title: Re: Gears on the Shay and Climax
Post by: kc trucking on September 02, 2008, 04:13:41 AM
Hi  have a shay in similar condition,  total 3 hours track time and now she is a  DQ {display Queen}.  Havent had the time to send her in,  lets here from anyone else with this happening?


Title: Re: Gears on the Shay and Climax
Post by: Shay33328 on September 02, 2008, 09:08:48 AM
I was wondering if I can buy the gears and install/repair it myself ?

Nick


Title: Re: Gears on the Shay and Climax
Post by: the Bach-man on September 03, 2008, 12:01:11 AM
Dear Nick and KC,
Contact the service department- they'll be glad to help.
Thanks!
the Bach-man


Title: Re: Gears on the Shay and Climax
Post by: Mr. F. on September 04, 2008, 09:52:52 PM
I was wondering if I can buy the gears and install/repair it myself ?

Nick

I also had a gear failure on my Climax and after an e-mail to the service department they sent me the replacement parts required for the necessary repairs.
As I have said before, great service from Bachmann ;D


Title: Re: Gears on the Shay and Climax
Post by: az2rail on September 04, 2008, 10:55:55 PM
I had a shay that had bad gears right of the box. I contacted Bachmann and they fixed it for me. To bad a lot of shay seem to have this problem, but at least the manufacture is willing to make them right.

Bruce