upgrading Bachmann DCC locomotives

Started by tri-way, August 06, 2009, 06:11:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tri-way

In the Bachmann train set, stock # 00501, the description states it is DCC and controls light, speed and direction. Is it possible to add sound or any other DCC controlled functions? Also, if it is possible how expensive and involved would it be?

I am new to model railroading and I am trying to learn as much as possible before buying my first set. At present I plan to go with DCC at the very beginning. I also intend start fairly small and grow my railroad using the rockies as the setting.

simkon

I think that's the Digital Commander with 2 ATSF DCC-equipped diesels. I have the set and am familiar with it. Here's my advice:
Although those 2 locos have DCC-on board, they do not have an 8 or 9 pin NMRA plug, so it would not be easy as cake to add sound and other features, because of this. These locos have DCC in the board, so you would need to ask an experienced friend to do it for you, ask someone at a local club, read up on some books, or pay someone at the LHS to do it for you, but it can be done. If you want sound and DCC, I suggest you buy a loco with an 8 or 9 pin NMRA plug to get started, that way all you have to do is pop in the decoder and speaker. I seen sound decoders sell for as cheap as $50 on the internet/ebay, but at a actual business they start at about $80 and up. Also for the future, if you do install sound, consider getting a DCC system with more than 10 function buttons and one that can program CVs (which allows you to choose the sound effects you want, how loud they are, how your locos accelerate/momentum, advanced lighting effects (ie ditch lights), advanced consiting, etc...)
I suggest if you want to add sound, and you want SF locos try these 8-pin plug equipped models: