News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

The right size bulbs?

Started by jonathan, August 27, 2009, 07:02:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jonathan

I have 5 locos that need lights (removed the welder lights).  I experimented with my 80's version GP35 by installing two 12 volt GOW bulbs.  The lights work but they are so dim, you can only see the lights with the shell off and the engine running about 80%.  I'm not discouraged as this is my first attempt.  The fact that the bulbs light at all is good news so far.

So... what is the right size incandescent bulb to use?  Not ready to mess with LEDs, yet. Oh... I connected the 12 volt bulbs in series; one was to light the top headlight and number board the other was to light the front lens and marker lights.  I have seen 1.5V bulbs at the LHS, thought these were too small... perhaps not.

I'm saving my 2 GP40s (made in this decade), until I get this right.

Regards,

Jonathan

pdlethbridge

I use the 12-16v Grain of rice bulb. Its smaller than a grain of wheat but gives a nice glow. I have used it on all my locos. I use DCC, so I get a great glow even at slow speeds. If you are running using analog (DC) Then you would need a constant brightness and reversing circuit and 1.5 v bulbs.

Jim Banner

Try wiring your two lights in parallel.  In series, each gets only half the voltage, so even at full speed, they only get about 6 volts each.  In parallel, they will both get the full voltage.  They will operate a little hot at 12 volts, but unless you run your trains at full speed, they will never see the full 12 volts.

Two questions - are you using dc or DCC?  This affects lighting.
And what is a "welder light?"  I wasn't sure if that was a light that was too bright or one that flickered.

Jim
Growing older is mandatory but growing up is optional.

jonathan

Jim/PD,

I am DC.