New to the hobby: What do i need to get me started on sound?

Started by niknok, August 30, 2009, 02:51:37 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

niknok

Hi, I am very new to this hobby (assuming i survive).  Out of impulse i bought a couple of locomotives from ebay. 1 x 2-10-4 Santa Fe (#51205), 1 x 2-8-0 Consolidation (#83601), and 1 x 2-8-0 Consolidation (#81175 N-scale).  Never mind the N-scale for now, but I would want to add sound to either or both of the HOs.  I've read through threads in the forum(nose bled once or twice) on adding sound to locos, but i'm not sure how much they apply to what i have.  The challenge is, I'm from the Philippines, and i can only get stuff online/overseas since the hobby here is totally nil.  I need to absolutely get the right stuff since i can't just run to the local hobby shop for parts.  Right, so now i need to sort a couple of things:
a) Would it be as simple as plugging in Sound Only decoders to my locos?
b) Does the 2-10-4 already have speakers? or do i need to buy them separately? (haven't received the engines yet so i can't check)
c) Since I have DCC on board, will a sound only decoder suffice? and which model for my engines? Or shall i go for the expensive TSU-1000 :(
d) I've read about JST 9 to NMRA 8 adapters, do i need them?
c) Haven't seen the engines, do i need to drill holes? (i might need to get a dremel tool)

A lot of my friends (local toy collector club) is telling me doing this is insane given that no one else is into trains in the club or the the country for that matter, but i'd like to find out for myself if its worth it.  I need to know all the stuff that i need first so I can ship them all at once (reducing cost).

(oh, last time i did some soldering was when i was in school, wayyy back =) )

Thanks,
dennis=)

Terry Toenges

What do i need to get me started on sound? Ears  :)
I'm sure others can respond with more technical answers.
Feel like a Mogul.

simkon