News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Sick 36T Shay

Started by armorsmith, September 21, 2009, 11:16:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

armorsmith

Well, I posted last week asking about lubrication for the Shay and Climax loco's. Our club did a show in Dothan, AL this weekend and all went great until I went to run the Shay. My Shay is a 2 truck 3 cylinder 36 ton Shay P/N 81196. When put under power all the cylinders, valve gear, bevel gears and wheels turn, but the shay will not move. It almost appears to be supported on something even though it is not. Any attempt to manually rotate the drivers feels like all the gearing in the power truck is connected ie.. lots of resistance. Anyone have any ideas (besides sending it back to Bachmann)?

Thanks,

Bob C.

Alex Butner

I'm no expert but you might want to ask Bachmann. I don't know if that's helpful but you might want to give it a try. Also, I don't own a shay, so I can't help you. Sorry.

Loco Bill

Bob,  How is it that the wheels turn but the unit will not move??   If the wheels are turning and the unit is on the tracks it should move.  Makes no sense or I do not understand your problem. If you put the unit on the tracks and the wheels turn on both trucks, check to see that both trucks wheels are moving in the same direction, if not they may be working against each other.  wired wrong??. 

If the wheels turn when lifted  off the track, but stop when placed on the track then the problem is the gears inside the truck or both trucks.

I am sure you checked for somthing out of place under the unit, but there may be an obstruction.  Turn the unit upside down and use a straight edge to check along the underframe to see if somthing is stick up which might prevent movement.   

Good luck

Loco Bill,
Roundhouse Foreman
Missouri Western Railway

Unnofficial Historian of Bachmann Large Scale Products

armorsmith

Bill,