News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

horn or bell

Started by crjdriver, November 29, 2009, 05:31:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crjdriver

Just received a new FA-1 set with True Blast sounds, horn and bell. I run old Lionel equipment, still like my o27 track and a ZW transformer. The ZW only has a whistle switch, sometimes it make the horn go off, sometimes it make sthe bell work. Any ideas as to what I need to do or get to get the sounds when I want them? I'm new at this multiple sound stuff so pardon me if this is a stupid question.

Joe Satnik

Dear crjdriver,

I've built one of these, it works pretty well:

Build a better sound activation button
Classic Toy Trains, November 1998 page 104
Upgrade your transformer with this simple-to-build device
( ELECTRONICS, SOUND, "ZOLLO, JOHN", CTT )

Hope you can find a back issue or a reprint from your library system. 

Some Lionel dealers might have this issue in their personal collections.

If you can't find it, let me know.   

Hope  this helps. 

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik 
If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

MAPA JCT

Building one is a great idea, but if you are not into that, go to your local hobby shop and buy a Lionel in-line sound activation button. I forget the SHU number, but the LHS owner should know what you need.
Marty,MA&PA JCT

Joe Satnik

Dear Marty,

The Williams reverse boards are rated to 6 amps.  The CTT plans use a 6 amp switch and 6 amp diodes. 

The stock activation button (which passes ALL the current for the engine or engines) is not good for much more than one amp, and has no provision for using the "boost" winding inside the ZW.   

Please note the word "better" in the title of the CTT article.  IMO the author was being excessively kind to the Lionel sound activation button designer.

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik 

If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

phillyreading