News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Starting a new layout

Started by jdmike, November 25, 2009, 08:25:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jdmike

I am preparing to start a new layout over the winter months.  I am restricted to a 4x8 layout size due to room size and constraints.  I found a track plan I am happy with using Bachmann's Ez Track.  I plan to use DCC turnouts for the whole layout and control it with a Dynamis system.  I am a lone operator, I will run one around the ouside loop and then switch over to the smaller engine for in the inside loop.   I have several steam engines, 1 is a Bachmann NKP Berkshire that is getting a Tsunami installed along with working mars light, other 2 are older PFM Brass imports that will get a Tsunami soon.  I am hoping to not repower the brass, they both pull less than 1amp at full stall and are as quiet running as the new Bachmann.  Both have genuine Pittman DC70x motors in them.  One is a Berkshire and the other is a USRA Mikado that I redetailed to NKP 587 as she was in 1954 with mars light and flying numberboards.  Havent decided on the exact industres for each siding yet.   The idea is to get a general feel of the NKP around the Tipton/Kokomo area in 1954.  Probably set the season in mid fall with the trees ablaze in colors and a crisp nip in the autum air.   Here is the track plan I found.  I may modify the sidings slightly as I progress.  Right now I am in the aquiring phase, will hopefully get the benchwork up soon.  Havent deceided on what style benchwork yet, looking for cheap and lightweight.  I also cannot get a full 4x8 sheet of anything from the hall to the train room.   Hall and doorway is to narrow.   

jward