News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Ez command control center

Started by kharlow1965, December 22, 2009, 08:13:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kharlow1965

Can switches be wired to my ez command controller? If not what are my other options?I am new to this and any help/advice is greatly appreciated.Thanks!

NWsteam

Yes if they are DCC turnouts but my guess is they are not since you are asking this question. Your other option is to wire them just like you would on a DC layout. That is to tie it into the AC output on a transformer. What I have done is mount a spare transformer on the bottom of my layout and they wired all my turnout controls through it. Works just great. Also is great for wiring all lighted buildings and items to it. Hope this helps.

-Brad

ABC

Quote from: kharlow1965 on December 22, 2009, 08:13:57 PM
Can switches be wired to my ez command controller?
Assuming you are not referring to DCC turnouts, you can power switches for turnouts indirectly using your E-Z Command however it is not the best solution because it will draw power from the tracks, the same power source that is running your locomotives and powering lighted passenger cars & cabooses, so if you were to choose this option your locos will slow down drastically or even stop when the switches are thrown. The better solution would be to use an old power pack and use the AC to power all of your switches so your locos will not be affected every time you need to throw a switch.
If you do have DCC turnouts then you just program an address for each turnout's decoder, the addresses can include all 10 numbers I think.

NWsteam

ABC- In essence the same thing I just told him?

Pacific Northern

Quote from: ABC on December 22, 2009, 09:05:07 PM
Quote from: kharlow1965 on December 22, 2009, 08:13:57 PM
Can switches be wired to my ez command controller?