Will an HO transformer burn up my 4-6-0 big Hauler

Started by ajzend, January 19, 2010, 01:51:01 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ajzend

This is probably an old topic, but I'm new to G scale stuff.  The transformer that came with this 3rd generation big hauler is quite anemic.  I got out an old HO transformer, and it gives it a fair amount of umph.  It's not about to fly off the track, but it gets up to a descent speed and smokes descently with two passenger cars.  Will this burn up my motor?  Is there any advantage or problem in using the "pulse" feature?

Joe Satnik

Dear ajzend,

Get a voltmeter and tell us the full speed DC voltage at the power pack, with loco off rails,  then with loco on the rails. 

(Careful not to fly off the curves.)

Sincerely,

Joe Satnik 
If your loco is too heavy to lift, you'd better be able to ride in, on or behind it.

Chuck N

If anything is over taxed in your setup it will be the power supply.  My guess is that the top voltage on your HO power supply is significantly lower than the 20 to 24 volts a typical G gauge power supply puts out.  After running for a while, feel the engine and the power supply to see if one or the other is warm or hot.  In the absence of a volt meter this will give you a hint as to where the weak link is located. 

As Joe says, get yourself a volt meter.  They are very useful in studying problems such as this.  They aren't expensive.  You can get a good one for less than $30 at RadioShack. 

Chuck

on30gn15

On the pulse, it depends on several things.
On my MRC packs, of which a couple are rated for HO to G, the pulse helps smooth out low-voltage, low-speed, running, such as  freight car switching speeds. 

Have been told when I asked Hartland Locomotive Works why their literature said not to use pulse, that the alternating lower/higher pulses will tend to heat up the motor -  which in a motor sealed into a pretty much waterproof motor block would eventually be damaging.