Basic problems with everything, esp. spray paint and glues, advice/opinions?

Started by AlanMintaka, December 26, 2009, 12:36:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

AlanMintaka

Hi Everyone,
I'm just getting into gluing and painting some of the structures I've been working on and have run into a dead end.  I won't go into my experiences with the so-called cyano "super glues" because that would take a book, and one of these topics at a time is more than enough.  Suffice it to say that the super glues are now in the trash and good riddance to them.

Spray paint problems: I'm working with foam core at the moment.  I found out the hard way that enamels do a number on this stuff, so after asking around I got some Tamiya spray acrylics and started practicing with that.

I started with flat gray primer.  I noticed some problems trying to get an even coat as this spray didn't spread around the same way the enamels did.  I practiced on test pieces for some time then applied the spray to the foam.  I was very careful but still could not get an even coat.  Since it was primer, I figured it wasn't so important.

It set up quickly but I waited a day to apply a top coat.  I selected "Gun Metal Gray" spray acrylic, Tamiya again, and began practicing. 

It was disaster.  No matter how hard I tried and how carefully I applied the paint, the result was grotesque rippling on primed foam.  Unprimed foam behaved the same way.  What could I be doing wrong here?  No matter what I do, it seems impossible to get an even coat of this stuff.  Even the areas where I applied a very light coat began to ripple as soon as I stopped spraying. 

Temperature wise I think I'm OK.  It's in the mid 60's F in the basement.  Following up on some other advice, I tried warming the paint can in mildly warm tap water.  I still got the ripples.