News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Reading Material

Started by Clint, February 16, 2010, 04:06:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Clint

Hello all.  I am looking to start planning my layout.  Don't know what size I will make yet, just looking for information and ideas.  Do any of you know or could suggest some books on model railroad layouts or a detailed website.  Maybe a detailed documentation of someone building a layout from start to finish.

I have gotten lots of information from this message board, but would like to have something that is not so spread out and more concise.

Also, I am not good a soldering.  Could I not use well placed terminal pieces?

Thank you in advance.
Clint

jward

atlas publishes a line of layout plan books. some of them are actually step by step instructions including the dimensions of all framing pieces and risers. even though i have been modelling for about 40 years now, i still keep a set of these books around, and often browse through them looking at the layouts.

as for terminal sections, atlas also makes rail joiners with wires attatched that you can use in place of the regular rail joiners. that way, you can drop feeder wires anywhere you have joints in the track. no need to solder with these, and they look alot nicer than the terminal tracks with the hoge screw terminals on them.
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

RAM

I think a good book would be railroads that you can model.  Check ModelRailroader.com.  They have many good books.  Also check in your local library.

NarrowMinded

I would recommend you search out a local club, ask to visit their layout and pick their brains, Modelers are generally nice people I have found, and will be happy to tell you all they know (even if you don't ask ;) )

NM

schtein