News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

Underground HO train

Started by skyslate, March 10, 2010, 02:56:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

skyslate

I am relatively new to model trains, using some HO inherited from Father In Law (Chessie retired). I am building a double tiered shelf system around the perimeter of an 18 x 14 room. On one wall which has an offset I would like to do a town scene complete with a bridge (already purchased) for the top rail. I would like the bottom rail to go subterranean like a subway and disappear (about 5 feet) and then reappear. I plan on running the two trains in opposite directions. How do I calculate the up and down trestle/bridge supports needed?  Is there any power issues on doing so? Is there any power issues on such a long fun of track.  I have a couple of large sized controllers.  I have about 12 inches of clearance to work in but want to use maybe 2 or 3 inches of that for a river (cross cut view) under the top bridge.

Jim Banner

For long tracks, you can reduce and virtually eliminate power loss by running a pair of heavy bus wires around the layout and have lighter weight feeder wires from the tracks to the bus wires every few feet.  For 64 foot long bus wires, I would recommend #12 wire.  This is heavier than you need for running one or two trains now but model railroads tend to grow on people so that if and when you start running many trains, you will be glad of the heavier wire.  The feeder wires can be as small as #22 if you keep them under 3 feet.