News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

decales

Started by obsmobile, March 26, 2010, 01:23:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

obsmobile

do you have a way for Bachmann owners to get replacement decal sheets? or at least an info sheet with the closest representation of your decals..... in my case... i have multiple shays and  would like to use the proper decals to renumber them...

thanks

jonathan

Oldsmobile,

I have been doing the decal shuffle for about six months now.  My only luck has been with Champ so far.  Despite rumors, they are still in business.  They no longer make decals, but have many years worth of decals in stock, for almost any road you could think of.  Their shipping costs are reasonable and have online shopping available.

I've heard microscale makes nice decals... still waiting to find out.

Bachmann stamps on their markings.  They are removable.  Opinions vary on how to this.  I wouldn't recommend my method (fingernail polish remover).  It works, but it's scary.

Regards,

Jonathan

obsmobile

HELLO..
THANKS.... that's sort-of- kinda my situation also..... as most company's do stamp them on... i was just curious what the type of lettering they are useing... i guess what i'm looking for is  the font or style... i.e. roman or gothic... etc.etc... just to be as accurate as i can...... there are so many decals from those venders it's like looking for a needle in a hay stack....

thanks again ;D

jonathan

The beauty of it is, somebody has already thought that through.  It took me a long time to figure this out.

Let's say you have a steam locomotive that was built between 1923 and 1928.  There are decals available for that particular roadname, for steamers, from 1910 to 1948.  You don't have to worry about roman, gothic or size.  The manufacturers have figured it out and offer the decals how they looked for that era.  I'm not explaining this well, but perhaps you get my meaning.