Track Steel vs. Nickel-Silver

Started by turnbub, April 20, 2010, 03:40:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

turnbub

Can someone please explain STEEL vs. NICKEL-SILVER track......eg. longevity, maintenance, cleaning, etc....
Thank you (I am very new to this.... I did acquire a couple of Bachmann cars, they look great, and the trucks and couplers seem to be superior.

ABC

When oxidized, nickel-silver conducts electricity better than steel. But with good maintenance and frequent cleaning they both can work equally as well.  Thouroughly clean the tops and sides of the rails using track cleaning solution (any brand will do) and wipe with a soft cloth that does not leave behind fibers and residue. Then apply conductive lubricant sparingly to the track the thinner the oil, the better it will do as a conductive lubricant.  Only use oils compatible with model trains, do not use any other lubes as they may cause damage or adverse effects. Clean and lube track approximately twice a year for best results, remember not to use too much lube or it will be worse than had you not use lube in the first place because lube attracts dirt and dust and will cause poor running.

jward

steel track is much harder to solder to, and it will rust. nickle silver is far better, and is the standard for track in most scales.
Jeffery S Ward Sr
Pittsburgh, PA

buzz

Hi
I shall say this once and only once.
All the way with Nickle silver rail.
Steel  rail is a pain to keep clean you can't solder to it, once the sheridising is gone if its sheridised rail and rust sets in forget it.
If buying and using Bachmann track just remember this get the one with the grey base thats got nickle silver rail NOT the black thats steel.
regards John
A model railway can be completed but its never finished

OldTimer

Buzz,
Thanks to you, I learned a new word today and now know what Sherard O. Cowper-Coles is famous for.  Who would have guessed?  Thank you!!! 
Old Timer
Just workin' on the railroad.

Joe323