News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

What is gap track?

Started by DrNickRiviera995, May 01, 2010, 04:21:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

DrNickRiviera995

Sorry, I'm new to Bachmann's track system.  But what exactly is gap track?  Is there a part number or place to buy it?  I see it mentioned alot in the EZ track guide book, but I don't see a part number or photo or anything.

I know back when I use to use O Gauge trains you had the plastic pins that you would replace the metal ones with to break stop the current.  I'm guessing gap track is something similar, but at my local Hobby Shop they didn't know what it was.  I thought maybee just pull off the joiners since the plastic base seems to keep the track together anyway, but is this correct or do I need to get a special joiner?

ABC

This is what it is referring to, part number 44597:

9" Power Terminal with Insulated Gap
Product Information
Nickel silver track with gray roadbed; 2 per card.
These track sections are required for construction and operation of a DCC reverse loop track configuration and other layouts requiring electrically gapped track. With easy-to-use swing-arm connectors, it can also be used to make undertrack power connections to your layout, eliminating messy wiring of some traditional terminal track sections.
Price: $30.00
Product Code: 44597

OldTimer

Thirty bucks?  You're kidding, right?
Just workin' on the railroad.

DrNickRiviera995

Oh ok, quite pricey, I remember seeing those but thought you only needed those if you were using DCC. 

Is that what I need for regular sidings and such?  I'm guessing it's insulated on just one end of the track?  I use to use Atlas connector switch boxes for operation of sideings in O Guage, will that work here?

pipefitter

Grew up next to B&O's Metropolitan Branch - Silver Spring Maryland

full maxx

also try that auction site