News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

RC and Battery for a beginner

Started by RadioJoe, May 20, 2010, 10:52:27 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

RadioJoe

I'm beginning a garden railroad in a situation where track power is not a viable option. My plan is to use battery power, but this seems to be more complex than I'd anticipated. I'm not one to tear apart and rewire a locomotive; I'm a modeler, not an electrician.

So my question here is if I were to purchase a locomotive such as the Spectrum Baldwin 2-4-4 Forney, what else would I need to make it ready to run, and what's involved in doing that?

Kevin Strong

The Forney has the "plug-and-play" socket in the coal bunker, so converting to battery is actually going to be quite simple. You can use any of the R/C systems designed to work with the socket (Aristo's "Revolution," QSI's "Magnum" with G-wire receiver, or RCS's "Elite" R/C). None will require any additional wiring, though you will have to figure out where you're going to put the battery. There may be room in the bunker for a 14.8v Li-Ion battery pack, I don't know. They're not that big--around 3" x 3" x 3/4", and will give you between 2 - 4 hours run time depending on load. Along with the battery, you may want to include a charging jack if you can't easily remove the battery to charge it separately, a power switch, and a fuse.

Of the three options I mentioned, the "Revolution" will be the most compact. All you'll need to do is plug in the receiver into the socket, hook the battery to the PC board in the bunker, and you're off and running. There is no sound included with the Revolution board, but it's compatible with a number of after-market sound systems.