News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

N gauge 'track troubles'

Started by ntexguy, May 25, 2010, 12:26:25 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ntexguy

HELP!  Im relatively new to mod trains and am developing my first N gauge layout.  It is set up on a table appx. 40" x 84".  I have used several of the ez track turnouts and when i use the engine with one or two other cars everything works fine.  However when i add additional cars, (even 1 or 2 more) about 1/2 the time, going through the turnouts they derail.  My track looks straight and the switch plates (?)seem to 'mate' with the track and running the cars through the turnouts with no power and me simply pushing them doesnt show any 'rough spots' that would could cause the derail.  I hope this makes some sense..I sure could use a suggestion.  Oh, this problem is not isolated to just one of the turnouts.  Thinking that the little n gauge cars are simply too light, I even taped a nickle to one thinging that might 'hold it down'.  Maybe helped a little, but not much.  Thanks so much for reading this.  mike

ABC

First see if you an determine what cars are causing the problem. Next check that the trucks are pretty tight on one end and a little loose on the other. Next check your couplers and so on...

ntexguy

thanks so much for going to the trouble to respond....sorry about the delay,
i have been out of town.  im in the process of checking, but i dont understand
about the trucks being ...i cant remember your words...tight on one end and not on the other.  if you wouldnt mind taking the time, could you please explain what that means?
again, my thanks for your trouble.
mike

ABC

If the trucks have screws then have one end with the screw tighter, so the trucks do not move as freely and the other screw a bit looser, so that the truck can move. It takes some practice to get them exactly right as you don't want them too loose or tight.

ntexguy