What do I need for DCC operation on N Scale EMD SD45's.

Started by papadan, June 17, 2010, 08:19:53 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

papadan

I am new to this hobby and I am trying to get my Burlington Northern set up for DCC. I am just wondering what items I would need to do that. Please help!

Jim Banner

If your locomotives already have decoders installed (Bachmann calls this "DCC on board") then all you need is a DCC system.  Such a system consists of five major parts:
(1) a throttle.  This is the human/system interface which lets you tell the electronics which locomotive you want to run and what you want it to do.  Many systems allow additional throttles.
(2) a command station.  The command station is the "brains" of the system, converting the human input from the throttle into digital commands that the decoders in the locomotives can understand.
(3) a booster.  The booster amplifies the signals from the command station, adding operating power to the signals to power the locomotives.  It sends this power plus signal down the tracks to the trains.  For more power, more or larger boosters can be added.
(4) a power supply.  The power supply takes power from a wall outlet and converts it to a safe, low voltage form that can power the rest of the system, including the booster.
(5) a decoder.  The decoders in the locomotives receive power plus signal from the tracks and direct the power to operate the locomotive.  This includes run the motor at various speeds in both directions, turning lights on and off, and controlling sounds if the decoder has that capability built in.  Each decoder can be given a different address so that each locomotive responds only to the signals addressed to it.  In addition to locomotive decoders, there are switch (turnout) decoders, lighting only decoders, and so forth.