News:

Please read the Forum Code of Conduct   >>Click Here <<

Main Menu

I Need Help

Started by Cascariok, June 20, 2010, 06:35:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cascariok

I just picked up a older Bachmann's Big Hauler item number 90-0100 and I was wondering if anyone knew the Scale of the train so I could look for parts. I am new at this and I am also looking in to where I could get more track for it!?!? Any help is great, Thanks! my email is kevin.cascario@gmail.com.. thanks again!

ABC

It is a radio controlled G/large scale set that has been out of production for a long time.

Pacific Northern

Checkout E-Bay,

Is this the set?

http://cgi.ebay.ca/Bachmann-90-0100-Big-Hauler-Freight-Train-Set-LN-Box-/330444393355?cmd=ViewItem&pt=Model_RR_Trains&hash=item4cf0054b8b

I ran across a collectors group of these G scale radio control/battery operated engines.

Pacific Northern

Jim Banner

The track that came with that set was plastic, rails and all.  But track with metal rails works just as well.  If you are using it indoors, Bachmann's large scale track works just fine.  Outdoors, you need a track that does not rust.  Aristo-Craft and USA Trains both produce such track.

When I started my outdoor railway, I used aluminum rails laid on cedar ties which was a whole lot cheaper than commercially made gauge 1 ("G gauge") track.  I got to like hand laying my own tracks and still do so 2 decades later.  Here is an article on how we do it up here in Saskatoon:

http://members.shaw.ca/sask.rail/construction/lsbuild/lstrack.html

Along with hand laying track, we also learned to hand lay turnouts ("switches") and crossings and the like.  Here is an article on how we did that:

http://members.shaw.ca/sask.rail/construction/lsbuild/lsswitch.html